About the monastery

Before the construction of the monastery

April 13 (nst) The Church honors the memory of St. Iona, Metropolitan of Moscow. In Pokrovskaya on April 13 (nst) the Church honors the memory of Saint Iona, Metropolitan of Moscow.

Before the construction of the monastery
001 01 pre.JPG
General view of Moscow to the construction of the Pokrovsky monastery. Year 1636

the very name of the Pokrovsky monastery by Bozhedomsky causes us to precede its historical description with a brief overview of the Squalid houses, on the place of which it was put in Moscow, and remarks about the feast of the Intercession of the Mother of God, to which it is dedicated, especially since both are in connection with the history of the monastery and Moscow, both in civil and Church terms.

Before the construction of the monastery here, among the groves and gardens, in an empty field, once occupied by suitable camps and a jail for the reflection of the Tatars and Lithuanians, was known, at the beginning of the XVII century, a Miserable house behind the Taganian, or Bolvan gates. Here were brought the corpses raised in the vicinity. In may 1606, the horse-archers and the mob of Cherni followed the dung cart that the nag was carrying; the naked and disfigured corpse of a young man was lying in the cart, who was accompanied by the crowd not with prayers and blessings, but with curses and curses, because the Church itself had anathematized him. This disgraced was taken from the Royal Palace, from the Royal throne to the stinking pit of a Miserable house. At the same time, as there was this train, the same storm raged, which met the entrance of Dimitri the Impostor in the Kremlin. A cart with a corpse is not passed in the gate of the Wretched house, so that the dead man dragged from the cart and threw it into the yamnik. Learns not here Dimitri, whom fate did not rest in the grave disgraced.

2.JPG
Queen Martha denounces false Dmitry. Painted lithography on the sketch of V. Babushkin. The middle of the XIX century, the State historical Museum

As if in justification of ancient superstition, within seven days, as the corpse of false Dmitry lay in a Miserable house, after a storm, there were severe frosts, fatal to gardens and fields; snow fell. There were some awful phenomena, clicks and howls were heard. The body of the Impostor was then transferred by invisible force from one place to another, then two pigeons sat on the corpse and flew when someone came to him, and again flew. The boyars ordered to bury the dead man in the ground; but he found himself in another cemetery.

there Was a great anxiety among the people. “One – says a contemporary event, – revered Otrepiev an extraordinary man, the other a devil, at least, a sorcerer, taught by the infernal arts of Lapland wizards who are told to kill myself and after come alive." the Superstition of the time, all such phenomena were attributed to magic hated Rasstrigin, the minion of the Jesuits. May 28 awarded the corpse to be transported to the village of Kotly near Moscow, where He was burned and his ashes were shot from a cannon in the direction from where he came false Dmitry. Six days later, as scattered had cursed the ashes of Dimitri in Moscow were brought from Uglich relics of St. Martyr Demetrios the Prince, whose rags betrayed himself.

3.JPG
Tsarevich Dimitri Ivanovich. A copy of the "Titulyarnik" of the XVII century
<

These are the events that marked this tract, where the Holy monastery was built in memory of the Intercession of the Mother of God! The memory of it encourages here to touch the life and the meaning of Squalid houses in the ancient capital.

Read further

The house of the poor

Certificate of registration of the media. AL № FS77-59984

© 2010. All rights reserved. Pokrovsky Stavropigialny womens monastery of the intercession Outpost of the city of Moscow

О монастыре

До сооружения монастыря

13 апреля (н.ст.) Церковь чтит память святителя Ионы, митрополита Московского. В Покровской13 апреля (н.ст.) Церковь чтит память святителя Ионы, митрополита Московского.

До сооружения монастыря

Самое название Покровского монастыря Божедомским вызывает нас предварить историческое его описание кратким обозрeнием Убогих домов, на мeстe которых он поставлен в Москвe, и замeчаниями о самом празднике Покрова Божией Матери, которому он посвящен, тeм болeе, что то и другое находится в связи с историей монастыря и Москвы, как в гражданском так и в церковном отношении.

До сооружения здeсь монастыря, среди рощ и садов, на пустом полe, нeкогда занятом подхожими станами и острожком для отражения Татар и Литовцев, извeстен был, в самом началe XVII го вeка, Убогий дом за Таганскими, или Болванскими воротами. Сюда свозились трупы, поднятые в окрестностях. В маe 1606 года конные стрeльцы и толпа черни следовали сюда за навозною тeлегой, которую тащила кляча; в тeлегe лежал обнаженный и обезображенный труп молодого еще человeка, который толпа провожала не молитвами и благословениями, но ругательствами и проклятиями, потому что и сама Церковь предала его анафемe. Этого опального везли из царского дворца, с царского престола в смрадный ямник Убогого дома. В то самое время, как туда тянулся этот поeзд, бушевала такая же буря, какая встрeтила въeзд Димитрия Самозванца в Кремль. Тeлега с трупом не прошла в ворота Убогого дома, так что мертвеца стащили с тeлеги и бросили в ямник. Кто не узнает здeсь Лжедимитрия, которому судьба не дала покоя и в опальной могилe.

2.JPG
Царица Марфа обличает Лжедмитрия. Раскрашенная литография по эскизу В. Бабушкина. Середина XIX в. Государственный исторический музей

Будто в оправдание древнего суевeрия, в течении семи дней, как труп Лжедимитрия лежал в Убогом домe, послe бури, наступили жестокие морозы, гибельные для садов и полей; выпал снeг. Там чудились какие-то ужасные явления, слышались клики и завывания. Тeло Самозванца то переносилось невидимою силой с одного мeста на другое, то два голубя садились на труп и слетали, когда кто подходил к нему, и опять прилетали. Бояре велeли зарыть мертвеца в землю; но он очутился на другом кладбищe.

Произошла большая тревога в народe. «Одни – говорит современник событий, – почитали Отрепьева необыкновенным человeком, другие дьяволом, по крайней мeрe, колдуном, наученным адскому искусству Лапландскими волшебниками, которые велят убивать себя и послe оживают.» Суевeрие того времени всe такие явления приписывало волшебству ненавистного разстриги, клеврета иезуитов. Мая 28 присудили труп его перевезти в подмосковное селение Котлы, там сожгли и его пеплом выстрeлили из пушки в ту сторону, откуда пришел Лжедимитрий. Спустя шесть дней, как развeян был проклятый прах Лжедимитрия, в Москву принесены были из Углича мощи св. мученика Димитрия Царевича, за которого Отрепьев выдавал себя.

3.JPG
Царевич Димитрий Иоаннович. Копия из «Титулярника» XVII века

Вот какими событиями ознаменовано это урочище, гдe впослeдствии устроена св. обитель в память Покрова Божией Матери! Воспоминание об нем побуждает здeсь коснуться быта и значения Убогих домов в древней столицe.


Читать далее

Убогий дом

Свидетельство о регистрации средства массовой информации. ЭЛ № ФС77-59984

© 2010. Все права защищены. Покровский ставропигиальный женский монастырь у Покровской заставы города Москвы

Подворья монастыря

Новомученики Покровской обители

Детский приют

Матрона Московская

Новости и события

Подворье в Троице-Лыково

Расписание богослужений

Трапеза для паломников

Новоначальным

Духовное чтение

Толкование на Евангелие

Монашество

Контакты